What’s in my carry on?

Hi Guys!

I’m off to the Dominican Republic at the weekend, with my best friend and parents. And, if you’re anything like me and you get really excited about going on holiday and going to the airport and going on the plane then you’ll love this post! When I say I get excited about planes, I mean I get really geeky excited, leading up to a holiday a I will spend the majority of my time making lists after of the things I need or the things I’m taking. I will also spend a lot of my time watching programmes like Airline and Inside Gatwick… I know embarrassing but I can’t help it!! And I’m also so excited that Britain’s Busiest Airport is on ITV, I don’t care if it’s geeky, embrace the plane geek with me!

However, I do I also get really anxious about travelling so I like to make sure I have everything I could possibly need in it, especially on a long haul flight! The anxiety around travelling however, does make me very prepared! Swings and roundabouts eh?!

So lets get on with what I take with me in my carry on!

Firstly, here is the bag I use:

IMG_2860IMG_2861

This bag is from Primark and it was only £12! I know, bargain!! It’s a really decent size and I love the pattern on the front. When you’re going on a 9 hour flight, or any flight, you need a decent sized bag to make sure you have enough room for everything you need! I also love that it has two short straps and one long strap, as a longer strap is always handy when you’re running around an airport!

So first things first (I’m the realeast) – I’m sorry I had to.

IMG_2867

Here is my clear, resealable liquids bag. When you go on a flight you have to have all your liquids in a clear, resealable bag which can be maximum 20×20. Let’s take a closer look…

IMG_2870

As I’ve said I am going on a 9 hour flight, and we all know how much short haul flights can dry your skin out, never mind long haul! So I am making sure I have a lot of moisturising products on board with me. All under the 100ml limit of course!

Firstly, an Aloe Sheet Face Mask, which I got off eBay for about £2.20 from a company called Bits and Bobs of Beauty, I know sheet masks can look a bit insane, but me, my mum and best friend will all be doing them together so we can all look ridiculous together!

Next I’m taking my Nivea Facial Moisturiser for Dry Skin, it’s obviously a really nourishing moisturiser with it being for dry skin, so it’ll be perfect for a long haul flight!

Lastly, SAMPLES ARE MY FAVE! If I’m honest, this isn’t an necessity but I love sample products, and this Pigmentclar Serum by La Roche-Posay is for dark spots, so I thought it might be good to brighten up my skin at the end of the flight!

IMG_2916

This is literally my saviour after wearing a matte liquid lipstick, which we all know how drying they can be, so I figured this would PERFECT for a 9 hour flight. Having dry lips is one of my pet peeves so I want to do everything I can to avoid it!

IMG_2869

First is the Etre Belle Golden Skin Caviar Eye Roll On, I got this in a GlossyBox one month, and it’s just so cooling and brightening, so obviously it would be amazing for then end of a long haul flight.

Next is the Maybelline The Eraser Eye concealer. With this concealer being anti-ageing it has great coverage, which after a long haul flight, sometimes you need to cover those bags, especially if you’ve had an early start before your flight!

IMG_2871

Long haul flights can make you feel a little bit gross, so you’re always best to bring some deodorant wipes and a deodorant! I used these same deodorant wipes when I went to V Festival, and they work a treat! So use the wipes to have a little freshen up and then put on your deodorant and you’ll feel so much better! I use the Sure Maximum Protection in Clean Scent, it is yet to let me down!

IMG_2872

Again with the feeling gross, Hand Gel is the one thing I always feel like I need on me wherever I am. But in an airport and on a plane especially! Clean hands can help you feel a bit fresher.

Anti-bacterial gels can be very drying, and possibly even more so when you’re on a plane, so a hand cream is a must! I’ve just got a Neutrogena mini hand cream that I got from Tesco – which FYI have 3 for 2 on mini products!

Now onto the electrical things…

IMG_2895

My iPhone and iPod – so important for a flight! I take my phone everywhere with my anyway, but my iPod is definitely needed for a flight! I’ll obviously a TV and things on the flight but if I got bored and fancy music instead, I have everything I love all on there!

IMG_2897

Bit of a boring one now, but also very necessary! Chargers and headphones! On the plane I’m going on, which is the Dreamliner, you can charger your devices on there using a USB port. So my charger will be used on board! Also I always take two pairs of headphones, in case one breaks or someone else needs a pair!

I will also have my Go Pro in my carry on, but I haven’t actually got it while I’m writing this post up! It’s on order and due to be picked up at Dixons at the airport before I get on the plane on Sunday! I can’t wait to have a Go Pro – expect some cool footage when I get back!

Bit of an obvious one now, but…

IMG_2874IMG_2918

Passports are obviously so necessary in your carry on. I have mine in a little purple case. And I know, how horrendous is my photo?! I look like I’ve smelt something awful or I’m just really miserable, it’s just my face okay?!

Books!

IMG_2892

Books are good while you’re there and while you’re on the plane, something else to keep entertained! I’m taking The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald, To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee, Dream a little Dream by Giovanna Fletcher and Dark Place by Gillian Flynn. A bit of a strange variety I know, but I love all sorts of books and I’m open to giving anything a go! I’ve had To Kill a Mockingbird and The Great Gatsby since I was doing A Levels, so I thought maybe I should actually give them a read now!

IMG_2863

This is my blog book, I take it pretty much everywhere with me. I like taking it with me so if I get a blog post idea I can write it straight down before I forget it! And I like writing things in colour because it just makes it more fun haha!

IMG_2900

SOCKS! Fluffy socks are so important to have on a plane, there is nothing worse than travelling in sandals or trainers, and you want to take them off to get comfy but your feet get freezing on the plane. Always take fluffy socks on a flight with you, you can thank me later.

IMG_2905

I always take a bikini in my carry on, ’cause if your case goes missing you have something on you that means you can have a cheeky dip in the pool or the sea! And sunglasses are obviously a must, there’s nothing better than when you step off the plane and feel the heat hit you and you have your sunglasses on – A M A Z I N G. Both the bikini and sunglasses are from Missguided.

IMG_2906

In any bag I use, I like to have what I call a ‘bits n bobs’ bag. This is where I put all the little bits that I don’t really have a place for! This is just a smallish St Tropez one. Let’s have look at what’s in it…

IMG_2911

I get travel sickness, so I always have travel sickness tablets and travel sickness bands on me, I do not want to spend the entire 9 hours of that flight feeling ill!

Ibuprofen is obviously important, you never know when you might get a headache, and again you don’t want to spend an entire flight feeling rough because you have a headache!

And finally, as I’m going to the Dominican Republic we have been advised by our doctors to take anti-malarial drugs just to be on the safe side, so I’ll be putting these in my carry on because if my case does go missing I’ll have them on me!

IMG_2910

Next a cheeky bit of Kleenex never goes a miss! Remember that kid in your class at school who always got nose bleeds? Yeah that was me. And I still get them occasionally now in the summer so I like to carry tissues around with me! Also if you get a bit chilly on a plane you may get a runny nose, so Kleenex is amazing for that also.

IMG_2913

As I’ve said before, a long haul flight can make you feel a bit grim. So chewing gum is really good to have on you, gives you minty breath even if you don’t feel so minty!

IMG_2915

In my bits n bobs bag, I also like having a mirror, bobbles and grips. Your hair can feel a bit grim during a flight so putting it up will help you feel a bit more human. I’ll also be taking my Tangle Teezer in my bag! (I also put a pair of knickers in here as well, you never know when you’ll need a new pair, especially if your case goes missing!)

So that’s it for what I take in my carry on! I’m so excited to go away now! I’ve never been to the Caribbean before so I’m so ready to see somewhere new, and like I said, get ready for some video/vlog type things when I’m back!

Let me know what you take in your carry on, what do you also have to have with you? Is there anything I don’t have that you’d recommend for me to take?

Anyway, until next time!

Lyd xo

 

 

Leave a comment